Spotlight

Pre-Order Now

6.10 through 8.9 2021

In the tradition of epic novels like Exodus and Cast a Giant Shadow, Isaac’s Beacon is a sweeping historical tale based on the real events of Israel’s founding—bringing alive the power and complexities of the birth of the Jewish state out of the ashes of the Holocaust. 

Bestselling author David L. Robbins, called “the Homer of World War II,” turns his mastery of the historical novel to another defining moment of the twentieth century: the birth of the state of Israel.

Praise

“…an instant classic.”

Jeff Shaara, NYTimes best-selling historical fiction novelist

War Of The Rats

David L. Robbins’

Best-Selling WWII Novel

 Available worldwide in over 20 languages.

Praise

“A historical thriller with the punch of a full metal jacket.”
—The Denver Post

Latest News

Upcoming Events

In the tradition of Exodus and Cast a Giant Shadow, Isaac’s Beacon is a sweeping historical tale based on the real events of Israel’s founding—bringing alive the complexities of the birth of the Jewish state out of the ashes of the Holocaust. Hugo, a survivor of the Nazi camps, cannot stay in Germany. He emigrates illegally to Palestine where he joins the Irgun. Rivkah lives on a kibbutz where she pries boulders from the earth and seeds the future of her people in the soil of Palestine. American journalist Vince travels there to report on the Jews’ revolt against the British occupiers, followed by a bloody civil war against their neighboring Arabs. And Malik, a Bedouin, a poet, sees the inevitable approaching, the greater war between the Jew and the entire Arab world.

Four lives. Separate histories. One Place. Isaac’s Beacon


Pre-order Isaac’s Beacon now @Book People Richmond | 536 Granite Ave., Richmond VA 23226

To Register for this Remote Event or for More Information About 5400 Club


Contact Shari Menlowe-Barck at sbarck@weinsteinjcc.org. You will receive Zoom information via email.

Four lives. Separate histories. One Place. Isaac’s Beacon


Global Release Date!


In the tradition of Exodus and Cast a Giant Shadow, Isaac’s Beacon is a sweeping historical tale based on the real events of Israel’s founding—bringing alive the complexities of the birth of the Jewish state out of the ashes of the Holocaust. Hugo, a survivor of the Nazi camps, cannot stay in Germany. He emigrates illegally to Palestine where he joins the Irgun. Rivkah lives on a kibbutz where she pries boulders from the earth and seeds the future of her people in the soil of Palestine. American journalist Vince travels there to report on the Jews’ revolt against the British occupiers, followed by a bloody civil war against their neighboring Arabs. And Malik, a Bedouin, a poet, sees the inevitable approaching, the greater war between the Jew and the entire Arab world.

Four lives. Separate histories. One Place. Isaac’s Beacon


Pre-order Isaac’s Beacon now @Book People Richmond

Pick up Aug. 10 at the launch event at the West End Branch Richmond Public Library or at Book People Richmond.

Sponsored by: Litte Star, Richmond Public Library, Book People and David & Sheila Aldridge

Join Us at Book People Richmond for the book signing event| 536 Granite Ave., Richmond VA 23226


In the tradition of epic novels like Exodus and Cast a Giant Shadow, Isaac’s Beacon is a sweeping historical tale based on the real events of Israel’s founding—bringing alive the power and complexities of the birth of the Jewish state out of the ashes of the Holocaust.

Bestselling author David L. Robbins, called “the Homer of World War II,” turns his mastery of the historical novel to another defining moment of the twentieth century: the birth of the state of Israel.

Isaac’s Beacon is a small, vulnerable kibbutz on the edge of the Negev. Here, the lives of three memorable characters—an Irgun fighter, a young woman farmer, and an American journalist—collide to shape an epic narrative of love, loss, violence, and courage.

Deeply researched and closely based on actual events, Isaac’s Beacon is the first in a series of Robbins’s novels which will explore the tumultuous, complex history and lasting impact of Israel’s creation.

Pre-Order Isaac’s Beacon now @Book People Richmond

Let’s Connect

This contact form is deactivated because you refused to accept Google reCaptcha service which is necessary to validate any messages sent by the form.

Praise

Critical acclaim

“David L. Robbins takes us from Hitler’s camps through the British Mandate in Palestine, onto a rocky kibbutz, and into the dangerous Irgun. A profound and pivotal novel of the birth of the State of Israel, with all its adventures and tragedies on display. This is Robbins—historian, humanist, and master novelist—at the top of his game. An epic and timeless work.”

“The story is a dotty, coincidence-filled Modesty Blaise-style caper dressed up in academic clothing – an excellent combination. I loved it.”

“The action is exciting and the pace furious … a screw-tightening story.”

“Set in a WWII prison camp in the Philippines, Broken Jewel is both a touching love story and thriller of a read.”